Work in progress

I have been having fun and enjoying the world of colour and improvisation in the studio. Working on quite large canvases in mixed media. The samples here are by no means complete and the finished pieces will vary greatly from these images. But I am simply enjoying the process of painting using colour, form and space. A friend pointed out that the images and colour scheme reminded him of a record album cover: Going Blank Again by Ride. Great observation! I am a huge fan of album cover art and know this one well, but I was trying to work in an abstract way and escape from preconceived ideas, but it’s strange how deep ingrained influences and ideas creep in and seep into your work. Looking again now I can see figurative images and landscape. Not sure where this work is going but I will keep on keeping on, as they say.

Leave a comment